18/228: Collegiality

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So we started with a bang again! (I am referring to the post grad this time not school 🙂

We need to give this presentation in two weeks time, yes just two weeks time!  One might argue “well two weeks should be enough to prepare a presentation!”, but when logistical issues kick in… this becomes somewhat complicated.  It is a group presentation with no group dynamics established as we have been re-grouped!! but anyway… enough nagging!

I am, therefore, spending my evenings doing some reading… and I came across this quote which I had to share;

Collegiality is the most important factor determining the success of a school. Roland Barth

This reminded me of a plenary session I had this week with the year 4 teachers. It should be stated at this point that during these plenary sessions the teachers review the material to be covered during the next week. It is more of a review of the Scheme of Work and fine tuning of it.  Remembering what I was being told during lectures at uni, I butted in the conversation and passionately tried to disclose how much collegiality and sharing of material is important if we want a well functioning year group.

There was a pause… I could notice that something was going on, but what?… after a second or 2, the year co-ordinator softly told me… “Nic, we have a dropbox for year 4, would you like me to share it with you?” They have been populating and sharing this folder since summer.  All resources are being shared and it seems that everybody is contributing.

Later that evening I got an invite from dropbox…. The folder is over 2Gb in size and now I don’t have enough space to sync all the material… how is that for collegiality!?

Now we have decided to take it a step further… we all agreed to create a blog and we will make some of the resources available for parents and who knows, other teachers from other colleges too…. 😉

 

 

 

Leave a comment